1. Home
  2. FAQ's
  3. Social Sharing Facts

Social Sharing Facts

What is Pixrit?

A robust social media management and photo sharing platform designed specifically for busy photographers who want to save time, expand their reach and make more money.

Social Sharing Facts

  • Pixrit connects to 5 social networks: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+ and Instagram, and automatically resizes your images for you.
  • We share directly to Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest, and will be able to share directly to Google+ soon.  
  • Instagram does not currently accept 3rd party sharing, so to make your posts as quick as possible for Instagram (and Google+ for now) we’ll send you an email with your photos, captions, and hashtags ready to post without having to type everything into your phone. We will release an app in the near future that’s designed to streamline this process even more, and we will be working continuously to add cutting edge technology that makes your life easier.

Are there any limitations for sharing to each network?

Some networks set limitations when it comes to sharing, such as Instagram’s limits on 3rd party sharing (direct posting of images to their platform), how many images you can post, and how many posts you can make in a certain amount of time. The following guidelines will help you make the most of your social sharing while conforming to each network’s requirements.

 

ALL NETWORKS

A general rule of thumb is to keep your sharing to under 200 images per day, per network. If you would like to share large batches of images, try staggering them out to post from one hour to the next using our Social Queue.

 

Facebook

  • Pixrit can direct share to Facebook in bulk.
  • However, if you post more than 200 images in a day, Facebook may disconnect your account temporarily.
  • If Facebook disconnects, try reconnecting your account in social preferences.
  • If you cannot reconnect, wait 15-30 minutes and try again.
  • If you cannot reconnect after that time, you may need to wait 24hrs and try again.
Too Many Posts

If you try post too much to Facebook too quickly (over 100 images per day), Facebook may flag this activity as spam or a bot. Keep your sharing limited to under 100 images per day to avoid interruption of your workflow.

Facebook Disconnection

If Facebook disconnects your account due to too many posts, there is no need to worry. Should you trip Facebook’s spam trigger your disconnection will be temporary and our account will not be banned.

Google+

  • For the time being, Google+ posts are delivered with all your data via email.
  • We are currently working with Google to enable direct sharing from Pixrit in the near future, and we will let everyone in our community know as soon as it is available.

Twitter

  • Pixrit can direct share to Twitter in bulk, with up to 4 images per tweet.
  • Should you share more than 4 images at once, Pixrit will conform to their guidelines for you and share the first 4 images in your stack.
  • For example, in the image below, the first 4 images will be shared but the 5th image on the right at the end of the stack will not.

Instagram

  • Instagram does not accept third party sharing, as it is strictly against their terms of service.  We do know that there are products on the market that ignore their guidelines, and in doing so they put your account at risk of being banned now and in the future.
  • To get your images safely to Instagram, we send your photos and info to you via email at the posting times you have scheduled.
  • Just copy the caption and hashtags, open the photo in IG, paste, and share in a fraction of the time it takes to do that all from your phone.
  • We’ll have an app in the near future that will make this process faster and more streamlined, while still complying with Instagram’s restrictions.

Pinterest

  • Pixrit can direct share to Pinterest in bulk, instead of the normal 1 image at a time.
  • However, if you post more than 100 images per day, Pinterest may disconnect your account temporarily.
  • If Pinterest disconnects, try reconnecting your account in social preferences.
  • If you cannot reconnect, wait 15-30 minutes and try again.
  • If you cannot reconnect after that time, you may need to wait 24hrd and try again.
Too Many Posts

Like other networks, Pinterest may flag activity of over 100 images an hour as spam or a bot. Keep your sharing under that limit to avoid any interruption.

Pinterest Disconnection

If Pinterest disconnects your account due to too many posts, it’s because your activity tripped their spam trigger. The disconnection will be temporary and your account will not be banned.


What happens if I share too many images in a short amount of time?

As long as you keep sharing limited to under 100 images per hour, per network, this should not be an issue. Here’s some information if it does happen:

  • Some networks may temporarily prevent you from sharing more posts.
  • If this happens, the network will be disconnected in your social accounts section of social preferences.
  • These temporary blocks can range from 10 minutes to 24 hours, depending on the network.
Network Disconnection

It is possible to trip any networks spam filter by posting more than 100 image in an hour. Any disconnection will be temporary and your account will not be banned.


What should I do if one of my networks gets disconnected?

If one of your social networks is disconnected, try the following steps.

  • Go to the accounts section of Social Preferences and reconnect the network.
  • If the network does not reconnect automatically check to see if you’ve recently shared too many images. You may have a temporary block from that network and it will be restored.
  • These temporary blocks can range from 10 minutes to 24 hours, depending on the network.
  • Wait 15-30 minutes, then try to reconnect to the network again

 

 

Updated on April 23, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles